The Basin & Range Trilogy

Full albums to be released late summer 2023

The Basin and Range topography is a huge region that stretches across numerous states of the American west and Mexico. The landscape expands outward in every direction – deep valleys, fading seas, peaks reaching toward the sky. It’s a severe landscape, imposing and unforgiving, It’s where I feel at home.

I’m searching for all the music I can find in the landscape of the basin and range. I’m trying to hear its story. I want to discover why these places seem to reach out to me.

Everything makes sense there. Why?

Three full albums, eight tracks each, make up the Basin & Range Trilogy. Each album focuses on a certain element of the landscape, and each track is named after a specific location across the American West. The first album, The Lost Valleys, highlights the drastic elevation changes of this topography, such as Death Valley, which reaches down into the earth to 282 feet below sea level. (From certain points within Death Valley National Park, you can also see the nearly 15,000 foot peak of Mt. Whitney, the highest point in the contiguous United States.) The second album, The Forgotten Seas, takes its name from the ancient sea and lake beds that dot the landscape, remnants of a time long ago where huge bodies of water were a main feature of what is now mostly desert. The third album, The Sentinel Peaks, is inspired by the mountain tops that punctuate the land, many of them well over 10,000 feet tall.

Full albums to be released late summer 2023

The Lost Valleys

  1. Death
  2. Searles
  3. Saline
  4. Deep Springs
  5. Racetrack
  6. Owens
  7. Panamint
  8. Amargosa

Each track on The Lost Valleys was performed live on Eurorack modular synthesizer

The Forgotten Seas

  1. Lahontan
  2. Bonneville
  3. Mojave
  4. Mono
  5. Salton
  6. Badwater
  7. Tecopa
  8. Cadiz

Each track on The Forgotten Seas was performed live on a Soma Lyra-8 synthesizer with effects from a Hologram Electronics Microcosm

The Sentinel Peaks

  1. Obsidian Dome
  2. Telescope
  3. Coso
  4. Paradise
  5. Whitney
  6. Wheeler
  7. Last Chance
  8. Boundary

Each track on The Sentinel Peaks was performed live on a Moog Sound Studio System with effects from Hologram Electronics Microcosm, Meris Hedra, and TC Electronics Flashback